Run Milkha Run!!

Warning : This is a  movie review by a self proclaimed procrastinator of the highest order!!! I have never ever moved a muscle in my finger to write a review, good or bad for any movie in my life!! At times the keys on my laptop did call out to me, but I ignored them as I had other important things to do in life : eat,sleep and…… well more sleep! One fine day(rather a lazy sunday), I was finally woken up from my deep slumber as I came across a very callous remark made by a movie critic in a national daily. I am not someone who normally gets offended by such nincompoops, nor am I the maker of the movie which was torn apart by this critic. It is just that this movie touched my heart and I felt I should defend it. So here goes my humble attempt to defend the movie Bhaag Milkha Bhaag!

I will not even bother addressing the critics and will come straight to the point.We are a democracy and everyone in this country has a right to voice their opinion, so do movie critics . Earlier a box office hit was dependent on a 3 or 4 star rating from the critics. I remember foraging for an old newspaper and the critics rating decided what movie I would watch over the weekend. Sadly, those days have come to an end!I no longer depend on the shallow and inane reviews by critics who do not want to appreciate an honest attempt at filmmaking by good directors. In the last few years, Bollywood has truly come of age and has dared to venture into unfamiliar territories. The audience has also matured and is ready to welcome and applaud this change.Thus, sadly the days of movie critics are numbered , as the audience have started to take their comments with a pinch of salt!!!!

Now coming to the movie, Kudos to the whole team of Bhaag Milkha Bhaag(BMB) !!! Never before has Indian cinema seen such a magnanimous tribute to a living legend.I have never ever seen an Indian actor who has not only acted well, but  has breathed a new life into this role. Right from the word go, Farhan Akhtar has given a stellar performance . There are some defining moments in the movie which confirm his place in this industry as a seasoned actor. One cannot help but smile at his impish grin when he is allowed to practice during the day by Prakash Raj,his innocent reply that he is Milkha Singh and not  “relaxing” and  finally watching him gulp down litres of ghee is freakishly hilarious!! Imagine the pain and agony an actor in his late 30’s has to go through to look like a real athlete.There are times in the movie you want to reach out and pat him on his back for such a commendable effort . Rock On, Farhan!!!!

An actor is only as good as his director!! Hats off to Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra for bringing an inspiring real life persona to reel life!! A round of applause for the supporting cast, Divya Dutta as the doting elder sister, Pawan Malhotra as an encouraging mentor and confidant, Prakash Raj as a disciplinarian with a heart and last but definitely not the least the young Milkha Singh played by Jabtej Singh who has an amazing screen presence at such a young age.

Finally, BMB is a movie which not only is an inspirational story but is also a breath of fresh air in an industry replete with  hackneyed plots. Farhan Akhtar is a real hero who truly deserves a place in the pantheon of modern Indian cinema!!

Leave a Reply

